Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

2004 Cadillac XLR Rebuild

Johnson1989

My XLR/V(s)
2004 XLR
So here it is, a thread documenting my journey bringing an XLR back to life. My intention is to give others the chance to follow my progress, from the day of delivery, to the day I get it back from the paint shop. Along the way I will post updates, pictures, small guides and pretty much anything I've learned through this process. My hope is to help others learn from my experiences, both good and bad, or at the very least provide you all with some interesting entertainment. :thumbsup

Without further ado, let's begin!

I've been playing around with salvage vehicles for around 10 years, going all the way back to when I was still in high school. My first was a 1997 Grand Prix GTP back in 2005, with my last being a 2006 Lincoln Navigator I rebuilt last year. In between those two are 3 Caddys another Gater and a few cars not really worth mentioning, haha. As much as people are afraid to touch repairables, I love it. There's something about taking a car destined to be stripped for parts and making it whole again. With the low production numbers of the XLR, it makes the entire process that much more enjoyable. Anyways, enough about my history, lets talk about the car shall we?

I purchased this XLR from a Copart auction out of New Jersey around a month ago. Looking at the pictures and description from Copart, I thought I was in for an easy, affordable rebuild. Boy was I wrong:(. Here are some of the pictures of the car at auction:

Front Left.jpg
Front Right.jpg
auction 2.jpg
auction1.jpg
auction 3.jpg