Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

brake fliuid

Steve Lee

Seasoned Member
My XLR/V(s)
The Cadillac dealer said my brake fluid was turning yellow, and needed to be changed. I worked as a mechanic for about 10 years, and the only reason to do that was because at the time, brake fluid was glycerine and alchohol, which absorbed water, making it neccessary to flush the system, and replenish it. Now they use DOT 5?, and whatever # it is, it is silicone. Does silicone turn yellow with age? Does it need to be changed when it does? What DOT number should be used??

Do I have to, or should I use, Mobil 5/30 in my 2005 XLR? There are a few other very good motor oils out there, one I can think of is valvoline. Castrol, and Pennzoil are also very good. I just purchased the car with 26,800 miles on it. If I wereto use Mobil which one? Sythentic?? or just regular old oil?

Wow only 26,800 in miles. When I purchased mine in 2012 she only had 20,758 miles.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I prefer the synthetic but that’s my opinion. And the service guys put in Mobil 1

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dot3, dot4 and dot5.1 are all glycol based and can be mixed. DO NOT USE DOT5 in an ABS brake system!! Dot 5 is silicone based, and mostly used in older vintage cars that sit for long periods. Dot 5 doesn't absorb water from the air like glycol based brake fluids do.

As far as oil, your XLR left the assembly plant with Mobil 1 5/30 synthetic, so you should continue to use synthetic. Don't mix non synthetic with synthetic.