Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

Intro to my XLR aspirations

WVsunnydays

My XLR/V(s)
2006 platinum XLR-V
:wave:Hello Everyone:

I'm new to XLR Net and just wanted to introduce myself. I have a plain Jane 2006 XLR in platinum. Since I live in WV, it gets garaged from late October until mid May like many other XLR owners do. I've always liked to get more performance out of my engines, so I put a Volant CAI and Corsa exhaust system on the car in 2010. It's been a real experience trying to get correct information on modifying this 4.6 L Northstar beyond that. I talked to the folks at CHR Fabricators out in CA about sending the heads with cams to them to be reworked but they said don't waste the money because the ECU could not be reprogrammed to accommodate the increased airflow, etc. I then talked to Lyndon (a super guy) at Wester's Garage in Tilley, Alberta. Lyndon has developed software to program certain XLR OBD II ECU's. Well, that was encouraging. Since I grew up in Cleveland and lived in Akron, OH for 15 years before moving to West Virginia, I called Big Shot Dyno in Hudson, OH. They said they could Dyno tune my XLR but I'd have to wait until their expert programmer from Pittsburgh was there. We never seemed to be able to connect. Then while surfing the net for Northstar performance modifications, I came across Performance Research in Columbus, OH. Great people and very helpful if I brought the engine to them to build, so that wasn't a fit. Then BINGO, I came across Smokey's Dyno in Akron, OH. My dream come true. I talked to Elliott at Smokey"s and he was the man who brought it all together. They have Dyno tuned XLR's and XLR-V's, so mine gets Dyno tuned on July 8, 2014. Smokey's thinks they can get about 300 HP at the rear wheels with my present set up. That would be a great start and we'll go from there. I'll let you know how this goes.

WVsunnydays