Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

3157 LED replacement help! - may have fried the battery .. please assist

centexXLR

My XLR/V(s)
2005 XLR
Hey guys - I am relatively new to XLR family ... anyway I had a couple of burnt out bulbs and i decided I might as well replace them with LEDs while I was at it. Anyway after doing research (apparently not enough) I ended up getting these

https://www.theretrofitsource.com/morimoto-xb-led-3157-bulbs.html#.VovfdBUrKhc (both CK and Non CK - wasnt sure what the difference was - figured i would try both if one didnt work. Started with the CK ones and left them in when starting ....

So I put them in .. and started her up ... bulbs worked fine ... .well the turn signals worked. (In retrospect the dtr lights did not) so I figured I was good. Lowered the car, put the wheels on and went to start her again and nothing .. the car started flashing all sorts of warning signals, stuff going on and off etc. Now I know the XLR is sensitive to battery issues. So my question - did these bulbs cause a potential drain or some how mess with the electrical in the car to fry the battery. Also know the car had been sitting in a garage for two weeks as I work some of the kinks out of it (exhaust, detailing etc)....but it started right up even with the new bulbs in .. .however it was just for 30 seconds.. I am a little lost. I took the new led bulbs out again last night and have a trickle charge on it now .. do I need a new battery? I will also check the key fob tonight when I have access to it. I put the key fob in the glove box though to start and was getting the same errors as above ...anyway please let me know what you think. Thanks everyone.

centex,,,, I can't answer your question, but I hope somebody can lead you in the right direction to figure out this situation.

I'm beginning to think that $15K XLR 'auction buy' wasn't a good deal,,, after all of the posts you've made....... Hope things start going better for you in 2016!

Good luck...