Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

Crimson Pearl, Sharon and a Century-old Wal-Mart!

Crimson Pearl

Seasoned Member
My XLR/V(s)
2005 Crimson Pearl XLR
The nature of my business necessitates frequent travel. Fortunately, most of it is within the Carolinas. When I have the opportunity to do so and not take too much time, I like to travel the "backroads". You never know what you might see and it often provides an idea for a nice little day trip for Crimson Pearl.

I have been traveling via SC Hwy 49 for quite a few years, but not frequently. Recently, I had a project in Greenwood SC. I ended up making about 4 trips to and from the project. As it turns out, running the "backroads" actually is both the shortest and quickest route. This route takes me through two very small towns by the name of Sharon and Lockhart SC.

Sharon SC is located in the western part of York County. For the most part, York County is very rural. The largest city or town in York County is Rock Hill, located in the eastern part. York County was largely agricultural and still is to this day. When you pass through Sharon, it appears to be much like many other small towns, but with one exception.

Among the small brick buildings and a few large older homes towers a giant of a building. It stands three stories tall, but is actually tall enough to have been a four story building. It does not appear to be a hotel, but rather appears to be a commercial type building. Every time I traveled through Sharon, I would wonder why this large building was located in this very small town.