Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

The return of THE GREAT ONE!

Crimson Pearl

Seasoned Member
My XLR/V(s)
2005 Crimson Pearl XLR
I purchased my first car back in 1972, a 1966 Pontiac GTO. I purchased it from the folks that had ordered it new in 1966. I drove it through my college years and the first few years after I graduated and was working for the power company. As the years went by, It was driven less and less and eventually it was parked. I placed it into dry storage and it remained there for many years. Last July, it came out of storage and went into the restoration shop for a full off-frame rotisserie restoration. The work was completed and the GREAT ONE returned to me last week. Here is a photo of me and the car shortly after I purchased it in 1972.
GTOMiddleton.jpg
Here is a photo of the GTO arriving at the restoration shop and being unloaded.
DSC01039_zpsc4739019.jpg
And here it is at the restoration shop, 16 months later, ready to leave.
DSC01459_zpse5708bb6.jpg
DSC01462_zps21324d04.jpg
Here is a photo taken at sunset at my neighbors house.
DSC01467_zpsad1a2635.jpg
I'll post some more photos later.

It looks like they did a GREAT job! I know you're happy to have it back home. Now just go take some 1st places in some shows! :thumbsup

You will have to bring it to the Arthritis Foundation Car Show in Dublin, Ohio next Summer. Not only will we have our own XLR class but there must have been 40 or 50 GTO's at this show. Some really nice late '60s and early 70's muscle.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

You should've went to the Montana Rocket run!! You could've meet David North! He was one of the head designers for the early 60's GTO's!! Both he AND his wife, were great people!! It was an honor meeting them!!

Chad

You should've went to the Montana Rocket run!! You could've meet David North! He was one of the head designers for the early 60's GTO's!! Both he AND his wife, were great people!! It was an honor meeting them!!

Chad