Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

Help! three beeps

Bob M

My XLR/V(s)
Crimson Pearl - 2004 XLR
I'm new to an XLR. When I shut off the car and walked away I expected to hear one beep to tell me the doors were locked. I heard three. The car was off, the lights were off too. Does anyone know what three beeps are supposed to mean?
Thanks,
Bob M

Usually three beeps is telling you that the car was turned off and a door was opened and closed and the fob is still somewhere in the car.
Tim

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

thanks Tim

Thanks for the reply Tim. I was out of the car with the fob in my pocket. I was standing in front of the car talking to a friend.

My car has done that too for me lately... as I a walking away it complains: yet the key is in my pocket. How come? I have not got around to digging thru my owners manual. It still does that if I leave the keys in the car, shut it off and get out.....like it is supposed to do. As far as I know it should not do this if the cars are not in the car. :dunno:

Needing some insight please!

I'm new to an XLR. When I shut off the car and walked away I expected to hear one beep to tell me the doors were locked. I heard three. The car was off, the lights were off too. Does anyone know what three beeps are supposed to mean?
Thanks,
Bob M

Three beeps implies something is (or might be) wrong. The most common (for me) is arrive, stop, switch off, open door, get out, leave door open, get back in and close door. My XLR 'thinks' I am shutting the fob inside the car but without me.

If that doesn't cover your situation, it suggests something else is 'wrong'. The DIS should be displaying an appropriate message which can give you a clue? Consulting the owner's manual, the only thing that I can find that sounds the horn three times is the 'fob in car' reminder. Is there a second fob in the car?