Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

Got rid of my Mag Ride Shocks!

C Gilliam

I replaced shock with the Bilstein shocks, and added the simulators two per wheel,but.still have the 80 mph and service ride control . Still will not go over 80mph
Any suggestions?

Hey C Gilliam,
The first thing that I would check is to make sure all of your simulators are plugged in correctly. Any one of the eight simulators not making complete contact will cause your issue. In my car I didn't use the ride height simulators, only the shock simulators and I have not had any problems. I see no reason to unplug your ride height modules, unless you lowered your car. If you reconnect your ride height modules, that will reduce your potential problem by 50%. I'm no expert, I can only tell you what has worked in my car.

Also, don't forget to add a rear sway bar. What a difference that makes. I used a 1" one, for a 2005-2009, Z51 Corvette. Good luck!

See Ya!
Randy

I looked into this for my 07 V but the simulators will not work for it. Connectors are different.

fireduck, did you try them or was just told they are not the same. Some people unplug the rear at the wrong place t oput them on . There are two conenctors on the rear. I put the shocks on a friends here in town and he added the sims and they worked fine

there is a wire on the shock that is about 18 inches I believe on the rear. It plugs into another plug that the sims I used plugged into

BPDATE FOR EVERYONE THE PROCEEDURE OUTLINED FOR INSTALLING bilstiens and Casper simulators to get rid of the mag ride shocks works part number by part number THE SAME for a XLR-V and the car rides and handles like a dream after the Mag junk is gone.

BPDATE FOR EVERYONE THE PROCEEDURE OUTLINED FOR INSTALLING bilstiens and Casper simulators to get rid of the mag ride shocks works part number by part number THE SAME for a XLR-V and the car rides and handles like a dream after the Mag junk is gone.