Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

After Market lower grill

Steve Lee

Seasoned Member
My XLR/V(s)
I want to buy and install an After Market lower grill, in my 2005 XLR. Question: Do I have to make a "cut out" in the original plastic grill to install the After Market one, or does it just mount flush on the original one??? Also is the upper After Market Grill a fairly easy install? I was a mechanic in my 20's, and 30's and can do quite a lot of things like that; I'm just trying to get a feel for it from someone who has installed one. Thanks for any help!

lower grill

the lower grills I have seen are just the little center section in wire mesh. The ones I have just have a little wing nut on them to hold them over the existing center grill. I would remove the factory center if it was me. the upper is also just a couple of nuts and washers and a couple of push in clips. I find it easier to remove the bumper cover but I can do that it about 15-20 minutes The factory upper grille snaps into the bumper cover on the lower edge. It needs to be warm or its hard to come apart. The bumper has a slot that he grill slips and clips into. Its rather hard to release without splitting the slot unless you can heat it and use a good thin tool to release it.

The metal mesh grills really look nice on the XLR, however there's one thing to consider: The lower grill has the potential to affect the Adaptive Cruise Control, which is why the XLR-V's don't have it -they use a regular cruise control. Think microwave oven small mesh holes on the glass to prevent radar waves from escaping; it's the same principle.

That being said, I have read of a few owners who did the install and said their ACC still functioned, while others weren't so lucky. Whatever you decide, make sure you can return the lower grill if it affects your car adversely, and take into consideration any physical changes that would prevent you from restoring the lower section back to a stock appearance if it doesn't work out.