Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

"New to me" Platinum 2005 XLR w/8400k miles

KevinJ62

My XLR/V(s)
Platinum 2005 XLR
Hi All! Just picked up a flawless 2005 XLR over the Father's Day weekend up near Indianapolis. LOVE IT! These are stunning looking cars! I traded my 2012 CTS Coupe for it and have no regrets about it. I did, however, learn the hard/expensive lesson about the leaky trunk wiping out the Steering Stabilizer and Roof/trunk control modules. Spider decided that the drain tube looked like a good place to build his home :mad:, and I ended up with around 5" of water in the module box. Got my fingers crossed that the modules didn't have any permanent damage, and we've FINALLY got a dry-ish week coming up. Anyway...I'm a quality inspector at Boeing's F-15 Eagle assembly line in St. Louis, MO. Got about 38 yrs working on/building fighter aircraft - F-14D Tomcats, AV8B Harriers, F/A-18E/F SuperHornets, and the Eagle which I've been on the longest. Great that there's a forum for these cars! I've got a lot of reading up to do [wish I knew about the drain issue last week!].

Attachments

• 2005 xlr.jpg
    2005 xlr.jpg
    75.1 KB · Views: 259
  • 2005 xlr1.jpg
    2005 xlr1.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 256
"New to me" Platinum 2005 XLR w/8400k miles

Welcome to the forum. I have a 06 I’ve had since 2012. Love it and drive it as often as I can. It had 20752 miles on her when purchased. Now has just under 65 k on her.

684905ec4411a8d3861432000a432aaa.jpg

87bd77086c94c89e7f23e8459801cc7c.jpg

I take her to shows and cruise ins. Yes she’s a head turner. I’ve never regretted the day that I purchased her. These are fun cars. Everywhere you go you’ll get some kind of question. Is this a new car. Or do they make them anymore. Sometimes I just hand them a card where it says only

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
de5d1bb1da280815565e6807ff30bb43.jpg

Last edited: