Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

Using FOB to unlock house door?

thumper

My XLR/V(s)
2008 XLR-V
It's great being able to walk up to my XLR and have the doors unlock automatically as soon as I get near. They also lock as soon as I walk away. No need to mess with keys or even press a button on the FOB.

I'd love to install an electronic lock on the front door of my house that would be triggered by my XLR FOB in the same way. Just think, no fumbling around for keys with five bags of groceries in your hand.

I haven't seen such a product available anywhere. It must be possible to use an RFID sensor as used on the XLR along with some electronics to trigger a standard electronic house lock.

I wouldn't mind having a go at trying to make one (I'm a retired Electrical Engineer) but I would need a lot of information on how the XLR RFID system works and I don't know where I can get that.

Any ideas?

Have you thought about a Butler? Very useful as they can do a lot more than open doors.:chuckle

Have you thought about a Butler? Very useful as they can do a lot more than open doors.:chuckle
I watched a show the other night called shark tank. A guy on there invented a door lock that works like that but with an IPhone. They bought it and plan to bring it to market. I will sure buy it if it comes out.

It's great being able to walk up to my XLR and have the doors unlock automatically as soon as I get near. They also lock as soon as I walk away. No need to mess with keys or even press a button on the FOB.

I'd love to install an electronic lock on the front door of my house that would be triggered by my XLR FOB in the same way. Just think, no fumbling around for keys with five bags of groceries in your hand.

I haven't seen such a product available anywhere. It must be possible to use an RFID sensor as used on the XLR along with some electronics to trigger a standard electronic house lock.