Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

XLR info...good stuff

Bruce, Really appreciate the info that you posted. It will help others avoid the multiple trips to the dealership that I put up with to get the top working correctly. Anthony

Bruce, thanks again for all the help, information and insights.

Folding top fluid checking/filling

Checking/adding folding top fluid;

Thanks for all the help! That eliminates all the questions.

I'm thinking of getting an XLR, but i need an honest opinion, i'm a salesman and i don't want a car that makes me look like i profitting too much off my clients, is this the car?

I'm thinking of getting an XLR, but i need an honest opinion, i'm a salesman and i don't want a car that makes me look like i profitting too much off my clients, is this the car?

You know... there is always that chance. When I got mine, granted I rebuilt it from a total so it didn't cost me as much, I really didn't think about what my clientele would think. I figured I and my wife had worked hard and finally were fortunate enough to get ours. I guess I felt we deserved it for all our hard work. And to answer your question, I really haven't noticed any repercussion in my business because of our puchase.

Bruce, listed as the XLR's skin:

Body:

2004-2009 XLR: The exterior painted body panels (except the front and rear bumper covers) are made of SMC (sheet molding composite), including the rear tonneau and both folding top panels.

I was under the impression the top was made of metal. Is that not the case?

Bruce, listed as the XLR's skin:

Body:

2004-2009 XLR: The exterior painted body panels (except the front and rear bumper covers) are made of SMC (sheet molding composite), including the rear tonneau and both folding top panels.

I was under the impression the top was made of metal. Is that not the case?