Welcome to the Cadillac XLR Forums!

05 XLR battery went dead now car is crazy...

silkywilson

Ok, so im new to the XLR family.. My 05 XLR sat for about a month and evidently the battery went dead.. put a battery tender on it and it showed it wouldn't hold a charge so I got a new battery. I slapped it in today and here is whats going on

#1 Key fob does not work (new battery) doors will not open, truck will not lift, car will not start
#2 tried the fob reprogramming as listed online turning the trunk lock 5 times to get it into programming mode.. never get any notice on the DIC.
#3 Car alarm goes crazy when we open the door from the trunk emergency release cable.
#4 normally when we go to start the car and it doesn't read the fob the DIC shows "No Fob Found".. DIC shows nothing when sitting in the car with the fob and push starter will not start or go into accessory mode.
#5 Doors will not unlock via key fob or inside buttons on the door
#6 doors will not open from inside buttons on doors
#7 truck sounds like the latch unhooks but will not lift from the button on the dash (and nothing at all from the fob)
#8 interior lights and headlights work as normal.
#9 gear shift leaver will not come out of park

I am so frustrated.. Honestly I never expected this sort of issues from a GM product.. I did put a battery Jumper on it to try and get it started last week when I realized the battery was dead.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.. I'm flustered at this point and its hard to make sense of what works and what doesn't work.. trying to avoid the hefty tow price ( 40 miles to the nearest dealership) not to mention costly repairs.

Thank you in advance...

Last edited:
????

Gonna be watching this one! I too am a new owner also in Georgia. Have read several posts about battery issues. Hope someone will offer you a solution soon. Good luck.